Glenmorangie 10, 43%ABV, Highland Single Malt

Since I like the Glenmorangie Quinta Ruban so much, I wanted to check out where the OG whisky came from. The Quinta Ruban is finished for two years in ruby port pipes, but it spent 10 years in white oak barrels: Glenmorangie 10. Here’s my experience:

Glenmorangie 10, 43%ABV, Highland Single Malt, $39 USD Glenmorangie 10

  • Color- This one is a wan piss yellow of what I assume is all natural coloring. What I imagine it to look like aged in white oak.
  • Nose- Playful, floral, vanilla toasted meadow flowers, light coriander
  • Palate- At first: BIG disappointment. I like Islay/smoke/peat and all that. This one went in smooth, wet, uninteresting. The mouth-feel was what you would expect, light and uncoating. Then: WOW! This little fucker did not mess around. The vanilla exploded with almonds and a floral wave (in a good way) engulfed my senses. I could taste the wood from the barrels.
  • Finish- This one was not as long as I would want, but it is along. I’m just greedy. There is a burn here and I attribute that to the youth of the scotch.
  • Overall – I really like this one. I like the Quinta Ruban from Glenmorangie and would love them to come out with a Fine Oak version of their double aged varieties. I would highly recommend this to anyone getting into Highland scotches. A staple for the cabinet.
Leave a Reply

